Fighting Fantasy Rules:
In some situations, a player may be given the option of Escaping from a battle. You may only Escape if it is offered on a page. If a player chooses to Escape from a battle, the opponent automatically scores one wound on the player (and they have to Subtract 2 STAMINA points) as they flee. Such is the price of cowardice. A player may however use LUCK in the normal way (see Using Luck in battles’ below).
FIGHTING MORE THAN ONE OPPONENT
In certain situations in Fighting Fantasy Gamebooks you may face more than one creature or character in combat. Sometimes you are requested to treat these as one creature or character in combat. Sometimes you will treat them as a single opponent; sometimes you will have to fight them each in turn; and at other times you willl have to fight them all at the same time! If they are treated as a single opponent, the combat is resolved normally. When you are instructed to fight your opponents one at a time, the combat is again resolved normally – except that once you defeat an enemy, the next one-steps forward to fight you!
When you find yourself under attack from more than one opponent at the same time, each adversary will make a separate attack on you in the course of each Attack Round, but you can choose which one to fight. Attack your chosen target as in a normal battle. Against any additional opponents you roll the dice for your Attack Strength in the normal way; if your Attack Strength is greater than your opponent’s, in this instance you will not inflict any damage; you can regard it as if you have parried the incoming blow. If your Attack Strength is lower than your opponent’s, however, you will be wounded in the normal way. Of course, you will have to settle the outcome against each additional adversary separately.
USING LUCK IN BATTLES
In certain paragraphs throughout Fighting Fantasy Gamebooks you will be told to Test your Luck, and you will then find out the consequences of being Lucky or Unlucky. However, in the heat of battle, LUCK can also be called upon to determine if more serious damage was inflicted after a successful blow has just been achieved or to minimize the effects of a wound that has just been received. If you have just wounded an opponent, you may Test your Luck, as described above. If a roll is less than or equal to the adventurer’s current LUCK value, then the previously successful blow is more severe and an extra 2 points are deducted from the opponent. If a roll is more than the adventurer’s current LUCK value, then the adventurer is Unlucky, and the previously successful wound only scratched the surface, and you deduct only 1 point from the opponent’s STAMINA (instead of scoring the normal 2 points of damage, you now score only 1).
If a creature or character has just wounded the adventurer then he or she may also again Test for Luck. In this case, if the adventurer is Lucky, 1 STAMINA point is restored (so the result is a deduction of 1 STAMINA point instead of the normal 2). If the adventurer is Unlucky, then the blow is more serious and an extra STAMINA point must be deducted. Remember than in all of these cases, the adventure has Tested for Luck and 1 LUCK point must be deducted from his or her LUCK score.
INCREASING SKILL, STAMINA and LUCK
A SKILL score will not change much during the course of an adventure. Occasionally a paragraph may give instructions to increase or decrease your SKILL score, but it may not exceed its initial value unless you are specifically instructed to the contrary. Some Magical Spells or Magical Weapons may increase SKILL. In the case of Magical Weapons, only one may be used at a time! A player cannot gain two SKILL points for carrying two Magic Swords. Drinking a measure of the Potion of SKILL will restore a player’s SKILL score to its Initial level.